Andhra Pradesh: Minister’s grand welcome; Opposition to cabinet reshuffle ends

YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) legislators in Kurnool and Anantapur districts had mixed reactions to the cabinet reshuffle by Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Five councilors of Allagadda Municipality threatened to resign from their posts in support of Srisailam MLA Shilpa Chakrapani Reddy’s candidature for the ministerial post, but their voices were silenced later. It is no secret that Sri Chakrapani Reddy was an aspirant for a cabinet berth. Even as his name was doing rounds in party circles, he failed to get a berth and Gummanoor Jayaram was retained.

Shri Jayaram was accorded a warm welcome on his arrival in Kurnool on Thursday evening. Party workers and Kurnool MLA Abdul Hafeez Khan Mohd led the welcome rally by garlanding the minister with a crane.

Raptadu MLA Thopudurthy Prakash Reddy arrives in his constituency in Anantapur district. He was warmly received by his followers who took out a vehicle rally. On the Facebook page, they went live with the program and announced that Mr Prakash was their leader, with or without a ministerial berth.

Supporters of Rayadurg MLA and government whip Kapu Ramachandra Reddy blocked the road on the national highway on Wednesday. Now the movement has calmed down. Extensive preparations are underway to welcome MLA KV Ushashree Charan, who has been made Minister of Women and Child Welfare in the neighboring Kalyandurg assembly constituency.

WordPress Ads