Bengal bypolls: BJP candidate, MLA beaten up by ‘TMC supporters’ in Cooch Behar

A BJP candidate and an MLA for the upcoming assembly by-election were thrashed by TMC supporters in the presence of a saffron party MP, allegedly by TMC supporters, during campaigning in West Bengal̵

7;s Cooch Behar district on Tuesday. However, the local TMC leadership denied the involvement of party workers in the incident.

Read also | Election season in Bengal after Durga Puja; TMC plans aggressive bypoll campaign in 4 assembly seats

During election campaign in Nairhat, BJP candidate for Dinhata assembly by-election Ashok Mandal and party MLA from Natabari Mihir Goswami were assaulted in the presence of Jalpaiguri BJP MP Jayanta Roy. The alleged TMC supporters raised ‘go back’ slogans when BJP leaders reached the area to campaign for the October 30 bypolls. However, the police brought the situation under control. On Monday, Mandal and Goswami had to face a similar situation in Bamanhat area.

The BJP alleged that the incidents were carried out to prevent the party candidate from campaigning. The by-election to the Dinhata assembly constituency was necessitated by the resignation of Nisith Pramanik, the winning candidate and Minister of State for Home, who retained his Lok Sabha seat. TMC again gave ticket to Udayan Guha, who lost to Pramanik. Besides Dinhata, bypolls will also be held in Shantipur (Nadiya), Gosaba (South 24 Parganas) and Kharda (North 24 Parganas).

read all breaking news, breaking news And coronavirus news Here. follow us on Facebook, Twitter And Wire.


Leave a Reply